Indian Spiced Adzuki Beans

4 Dec

The past couple of weeks, I have been working the 6 am-3 pm schedule at work. While I love having the couple extra hours of daylight after work, it means waking up at 4:45 am. Ooof. We live about 25 minutes from my work, so I need time in the morning to wake up, make coffee and cereal, pack my lunch and try to not look like a zombie. I normally make my lunch the night before, but was out at a dinner party. I was pilfering the last of some leftover soup, and wanted to leave some food for L to take to work with him. We had leftover adzuki beans in the fridge, and I’d seen a tasty looking recipe in a vegan Indian cookbook the other day. This recipe is great when you’re short on time and fresh ingredients, and would probably be fantastic with some naan and rice. I love these quick and easy recipes that come together in a flash. I cooked up some quinoa to go alongside.

Indian Spiced Adzuki Beans

Ingredients:

  • 3 cups cooked adzuki beans
  • 1 can diced tomatoes (I used fire roasted)
  • 1 tsp each of: sea salt, ground coriander, ground ginger, turmeric, cumin and garlic granules

Instructions:

  1. Combine ingredients and heat in sauce pot until heated through. Serve with your favorite grain or bread and enjoy.

See? Easy as pie. This would be a great recipe if you had time to cook up some diced onion, garlic and fresh ginger before adding the rest of the ingredients. If you did this, omit the garlic powder and ground ginger.

One Response to “Indian Spiced Adzuki Beans”

  1. Recipes Volt December 26, 2009 at 7:38 pm #

    Cool recipes from all over the world. Create meals that will wow your friends and family over? Don’t reinvent the wheel, make proper use of it!

Leave a comment